View

Susan R. - Old Mill Pet Retreat-Home away from Home

Bend, OR

Book on Rover & receive:

  • Premium pet insurance
  • Our reservation guarantee
  • 24/7 customer support

Green circle is the approximate location of "Old Mill Pet Retreat-Home away from Home."

Green circle is the sitter's approximate service range

Legend

Available
Unavailable

Susan R.'s Availability

Susan R.'s Videos

Susan R. provides

Home Sitting

from $33 per night
100% response rate Sitter responds to all requests within 24 hours
Around an hour Sitter responds in around an hour
100% of stays Sitter sends photos through Rover on every stay
Susan R.'s Skills
  • 6 Years Of Experience
  • Oral Medication Administration
  • Senior Dog Experience
  • Special Needs Dog Experience
  • Can provide daily exercise
Susan R.'s Home
  • House
  • Fenced Yard
  • Non-Smoking Household
  • Has 2 Dogs, No Other Pets
  • No Children
  • Dogs Allowed On Bed
  • Dogs Allowed On Furniture
About Susan:

I have a 2 bedroom townhome in the Old Mill district. I live on a corner lot with a fenced in and
plently of area for dogs to hang out.
My house is dog freindly and dog safe. I treat your dog with the same loving care that I do my 5yr. old Labradoodle named Fanny.
Fanny loves having company. Fanny gets 2 walks a day. Depending on your dogs age and exercise needs, I offer 2 walks or hikes a day.
I have room for crates or allow dogs to sleep
on couches . There is plenty of room for your dogs bed.

About this sitter:
I recently moved to Bend with my dog Fanny to be with family and enjoy all that Bend has to offer an active senior.
My goal is to spend lots of time outdoors with Fanny - hiking, kayaking, snow shoeing etc.
Being retired, I can offer dog owners a place they can leave their pets, knowing they will get the same exercise and attention that they get at home.

Why I love dog sitting
I have beena dog lover since I was a toddler. We had a black lab, a poodle, and
a small rescue mix breed dog , at different times. I always wanted my own dog,
had to wait till I semi-retired to adopt my labradoodle, Fanny.
Back home in Michigan, I took care of and boarded dogs whom owners I new,
loved doing it, Fanny was thrilled with the company and I made a little money.
Fanny is almost 5, I have had 5 years of experience taking care of Fanny and
other dogs at my house. I took Lucy Young into my home and other dogs
when the owners went away. Depending on their exercise needs, I take the
boarders on hikes with us. I have a fenced in yard for exercise and fresh air at home.

Meet my pets
1- Dog
6 year old Labradoodle named Fanny. Very well behaved, lots of training. Adapts to other dogs in home well once she establishes she is the queen of the roost....

About my yard
I live in a townhouse in the Old Mill area, on the corner-have a great fenced in yard. The back is accessible from a door wall and the room leading to the garage walkway. I have grassed areas to play in.

My experience administering medication
Yes-as long as specific and correct instructions are left with me.

What Susan needs to know about your dog

Number 1, I would want to make sure the dog is a good fit for my home and Fanny. I would want to know what type exercise and playtime the dog needs,
what type of diet the dog is on, any allergies, how the dog gets along with other dogs, if taking the dog on hikes will be part of the daily regime. I need to have contact information, vet information, medication instructions, feeding times and amounts, medical history- Breed preference is not an issue-as is
the temperment of the dog. Fanny is energetic but very relaxed. She is not aggressive, has an overabundance of safe toys and loves to share. I would expect the same from dogs that stay here.

When your dog stays in Susan's home

Here's where we'll take our walks
I take dogs on leash on the river trail starting from Farwell Bend park.
There are other areas to walk close by the Old mill along the river.
Where depends on weather and the dogs needs. My neighborhood is a great place to walk also.

Your dog's sleeping arrangement
That would depend on the dog. I have dog
beds in my room, and the loft area outside of my room-many dogs have chosen to sleep there because of the views of the outside.
There is room for beds, Fanny has one in the Kitchen-Lounge area. I have 2 extra dog beds in the house. If your dog sleeps in a crate at home and is comfortable there- I would ask that your dog sleep in your crate here.

Time I'll spend with your dog
I spend quite a bit of time with my dogs that stay with me. More so the first 24 hours of their stay so they can get comfortable in their new home. I do offer 2 walks a day- one being a hike if the dog is use to a lot of exercise. After the first day of the stay- I may leave for 3 hours at a time, with my dog at home also so they can rest and I can get errands done.

This sitter accepts:

Maximum of 4 dogs, from multiple clients at a time

  • Small (0 - 15lbs)
  • Medium (16 - 40lbs)
  • Large (41 - 100lbs)
  • Giant (101lbs and above)
  • Accepts puppies
  • Dogs who can wait at least 2-4 hours between potty breaks

This sitter does not accept:

  • Dogs who are not crate trained
  • Unspayed females
  • Non-neutered males
  • Females who are in heat
Cancellation Policy: Moderate

Loading Stay Photos

loading
Fanny

Age: 6 years, 2 mo. old
Weight: 50 lbs.
Breed: Labradoodle

Fanny is a beautiful labradoodle-75% Poodle-25% lab
Fanny likes off leash walks, leashed walks, playing ball,
running on the beach, eating carcasses of animals -
Kids, grown ups, other dogs -is very layed back and
at the same time playful.
She is very intuitive....
I love her so.

Fanny

Age: 6 years, 3 mo. old
Weight: 49 lbs.
Breed:

Fanny is a very mellow, intelligent,loving pet.
Fanny just recieved her Canine Good Citizen rating for Oregon. She loves kids, other dogs, and dog people.
Fanny loves to play Fetch, go for long hikes, snow shoe, and hunt. Her personality traits of being layed back and energetic at the same time are good blends for other dogs

23 Reviews

Carolyn V.

April 9

Lily enjoyed her day long stay with Susie and Fanny! We will be planning on a longer stay soon.

Don R.

April 6

Although I was bit tentative at the meet and greet as Susan seemed a frustrated handling her own Labradoodle as well as two other dogs on a leash, my dog received frequent exercise and I received frequent texts and picture.

Hikes, treats and a comfortable place to nap - my dog loves her time with Susie. Great care!

Susie goes above and beyond to take care of my old, shy dog. I never worry when I leave her in Susie's care. Excellent!

When your dog runs into the sitter's house and barely notices you've left, you've found a great dog sitter. That is exactly what my dog does every time I leave her with Susie.

Lynn M.

March 6

Susan is always the best! Sammi was happy to see us, but she was also very happy girl... we were gone over a week and felt confident that Susan would take good care of her....

Marijane K.

January 29

Wonderful, my dog seemed to have mixed feelings about coming home because she had so much fun with Susan.

Susan's response

January 29

Thanks MJ-Fanny and I are looking forward to Bell's visit-I told Fanny she likes to sleep in and she is happy about that-she likes her beauty rest also.

Tammi P.

January 20

Susie was great! It was a vacation for our dog and I didn't have to worry about leaving him behind. She takes amazing care of my older dog and keeps him active.

Susan's response

January 20

Thanks so much Tammi-Fanny and I are going thru Speedy withdrawl. I will look forward to spending time with him again. Such a great boy-I will never call him old-he is faster than me...

Monica H.

December 6

Susan did a wonderful job taking care of my pups. They were happy and well cared for and her home is delightfully set up to make them feel comfortable.

Susan's response

December 7

Thank you for the great review-Fanny and I miss Jack and Lucy already.

Lynn M.

November 19

Sammi had a wonderful happy time with Susan and Fanny! Could not ask for better!

Testimonials

Naomi S.

November 15
Susie is the pied piper of dogs. My little Avi would follow her anywhere. She took care of Avi while I was away several times; and he was always very happy & excited when I dropped him off at her house. A+