Madison S.

Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: A few minutes

Services

Drop-In Visits

$12
30-minute check-ins
per visit
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Traveling Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
Drop-In Visits Cancellation Policy:

About Madison

3
years of experience
  • Verified Background Check

Experienced Animal Loving Sitter

Hello!
My name is Madison, and I would love to help you with your dog sitting needs. I am an animal lover and have 1 dog, Sophie, and 2 cats, Daniel and Tigerlily.
I have previous experience dog sitting in clients' homes, and I find that it is less stressful for the dog(s) to remain in their home environment during sitting hours.
I love to be active, and have experience playing with and walking ...

What Madison would like to know about your dog

I have dog-sat for small and large dogs with very different needs, preferences and dispositions, but I have to say that I have never met a dog that I did not like and get along with! Sure, some dogs, especially some resuces, will be wary or shy at first. I experienced this myself when I adopted my dog, Sophie, from Austin Pets Alive! in 2009. But I have found that gently allowing them to get to know you and learn that you are not a threat but a source of fun is highly rewarding. I believe that dogs have needs and wants just as humans do, and that they should be addressed kindly and with compassion. I apply this to my sitting by ensuring that the dog(s) have frequent play time, outside time, off-leash outside time, swimming opportunities, prompt and consistent feeding times, and a big supply of clean water for the Texas heat.

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise
Injected Medication Administration
Special Needs Dog Experience

I make sure to go out on a walk with the dog(s) at least twice a day to get exercise and let them get some stimulation from the outside world. I live very close to Auditorium Shores and often go down to the lake to let the dogs swim, cool off and play in the leash free area. It is important for my dog to have at least 25-30 minutes of off-leash time a day so she can run and stretch her legs, so I am always looking for an opportunity to do that! We also play fetch and tug-of-war with toys and balls around the house. I am very consistent about feeding times and about taking the dogs I sit out frequently (at least every 2 hours) to do their business. I love to pet and talk to dogs as well, so there will be time spent just giving the dog(s) love, too. I am also very careful about not feeding my dog any human food whatsoever and definitely know how to keep food out of reach of little (or big!) paws. I do allow my dog to sleep on my bed or on a dog bed. She often moves around to sleep, so there are various sleeping options. For small to midsize animals, we have my bed or a small dog bed that used to be for my cats. For larger animals, we have a larger dog bed and a cushioned dog blanket for sleeping on the floor comfortably (my dog loves it). I am used to being woken up in the night by an animal that needs to go outside, so that is not an issue for me. I strive to ensure that the dogs I sit are as relaxed and comfortable as possible. I work only a few hours at a time, so I am largely at home all day and available for the dog(s) to give them attention, play time, and anything else they might seem to need.
Please note: I NEVER leave dogs in my car even for "five minutes," because I know how horribly uncomfortable that is for me and I can't imagine how awful it would be if I were covered in fur. Plus, it's a terrible idea. No amount of convenience is worth a dog's life.

Madison's Service Area

All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.