Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Under half an hour

Services

Dog Boarding

Away
in the sitter's home

Drop-In Visits

Away
30-minute check-ins

Doggy Day Care

Away
in the sitter's home

Dog Walking

Away
30-minute walks
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Hosting Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs
Additional Preferences
  • No Females in Heat

Traveling Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
Laura can host up to 2 dogs per night.
Laura can host up to 2 dogs per day for day care.
Dog Boarding Cancellation Policy:
Drop-In Visits Cancellation Policy:
Doggy Day Care Cancellation Policy:
Dog Walking Cancellation Policy:

Laura's Photos

100%
of clients received photo updates

Reviews

17
repeat clients
32 Reviews

May L.
May L.
May 12, 2017
Verified Stay

Laura is Pedey's second mom. I don't know what I'd do if she couldn't watch him!

Laura R.
Darren G.
Darren G.
May 10, 2017
Verified Stay

Laura was awesome. Will be using her services again. She took great care of our dog.

Laura R.
Ryan S.
Ryan S.
Apr 3, 2017
Verified Stay

We gathered from her reviews that Laura is excellent with dogs, and we’re pleased to report that she is also a wiz with cats! She did a great job watching our two cats while we were on a recent trip. Not only did she attend to our cats physical needs (feeding, litter box cleanup, etc.), she also played with and gave our cats some much-needed love while we were away. She sent daily pictures, detailed ...

Laura R.

About Laura

8
years of experience
  • First Aid & CPR
  • Oregon Humane Society Donor
  • Rover Pack
  • HSUS Donor
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

City Dogs Dog Sitting

FYI: I AM CURRENTLY FOCUSING ON MY CURRENT CLIENT BASE WITH LIMITED AVAILABILITY FOR NEW CLIENTS. PLEASE INQUIRE IF YOU FEEL YOUR DOGS WOULD BE A GOOD MATCH FOR MY HOME.

City Dogs Dog Sitting is about providing a fun, stimulating environment for your dogs while you're away. We're located in NE Portland, just a few minutes from Portland International Airport, with everything the city has to offer at our door step.

My two girls ...

What Laura would like to know about your dog

My number one concern is giving all the animals in my care a fun, stress-free environment. For this reason, I limit my available spaces to two, and require a meet and greet prior to any overnight stay so we can carefully evaluate each dog as they interact with each other to minimize the chances of conflict and anxiety.

Second, I need to know about any special needs your dog has, from dietary restrictions to behavioral concerns--I am very accommodating and will do my best to make the transition from your house to mine as seamless as possible and would like your help in understanding how best to do that for your dog.

Please include the following in your care instructions and/or inquiry:
- Food or environmental allergies
- Toy or treat restrictions
- Any history of destructive behavior
- Any history of reactivity (such as barking/lunging on leash, guarding food or toys, or uncontrollable excitement) towards other animals or humans
- Any history of separation anxiety
- Any other special needs, likes or dislikes that I should be aware of

Finally, I do require that dogs staying here be house trained. That said, I understand that in a new place accidents can happen, and I can certainly accommodate an established potty schedule for younger, older, or medically-needy dogs.

For your dog's benefit, I ask that you consider the following before requesting a booking:
- Is your dog nervous or reactive to new things? If so, someone in a less central location may be a better option for her. My apartment is fairly mellow; however, there is a lot going on outside the the doors and windows which might make a nervous dog uncomfortable, especially without her family around to reassure her. Often, dogs like this will be most comfortable in their own home, under the care of a travel sitter.
-Is your dog very vocal? Again, if yes, he may be better suited to a different environment. Though our complex is full of dogs, it would be unfair of me to subject my neighbors to frequent barking, howling or whining. Please keep this in mind when making your decision.

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
First Aid/CPR
Special Needs Dog Experience
Injected Medication Administration
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise

About Laura's Home

Lives in an Apartment
Non-Smoking Household
No Children Present
Has an Unfenced Yard
Has 2 Dogs, No Other Pets
Laura's Pets

Carys

Border Collie and Cocker Spaniel
10 years, 10 months old, 33 lbs.

Aster

Australian Shepherd and Dachshund
9 years, 4 months old, 18 lbs.

When Laura watches your pet

My dogs are pretty much my best friends. I love spending time with them, and whenever possible I make them a part of my activities. They're weird and amazing. We don't always have a set routine, which suits us just fine. We do whatever strikes us in the moment, whether that's take a long walk, hop on the bike, head to a friend's house for play time, or curl up on the couch with Netflix. We can certainly accommodate a stricter schedule (especially for potty breaks and feedings), but dogs who go with the flow are the most likely to fit in well here.

I am close to both Fremont and Alberta, with a variety of dog-friendly locations to visit and things to smell. I am a block from a large, nearly fully fenced field where the dogs can run, and as you and I feel is appropriate, I can provide a long training lead for their safety and your peace of mind. The terrain around here is mostly flat, and there are a plethora of quiet side streets as well as the more stimulating options, so we can make social butterflies as well as shyer types comfortable and happy. I can take your dog on short or long walks, or (for those comfortable with it) runs alongside a bike. I also enjoy hiking, so if your dog is more outdoorsy, that may be an option. For the water lovers we can head out to Sandy River Delta or maybe even the Oregon Coast.

Let us know what your dog will enjoy and we can plan adventures accordingly.

Your dog's sleeping arrangements:
I generally keep my bedroom door shut at night due to my allergies. Sometimes dogs who are used to sleeping in the bed or having their owners in sight find this stressful; if you aren't sure how your dog will react, I recommend trying it for a night or two before their stay. In the past, I have spent the first night or two of a dog's stay sleeping on the couch with them if they are feeling stressed, but this isn't always possible.

I can provide extra kennels for small/medium dogs (up to about 65 lbs) and extra blankets/beds, though I encourage you to provide your own bedding from home to keep your dog comfortable. If your dog is used to sleeping without a kennel and is trustworthy overnight, they are welcome to sleep wherever they prefer. (Except the human bed. That is reserved for humans only.)

In Laura's Home

Dogs Not Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 4-8 Hours
Dogs Not Allowed On Furniture

Laura's Neighborhood

Laura's Neighborhood
All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.