Kelly G.

Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Under half an hour


Doggy Day Care

in the sitter's home
per day
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Hosting Preferences

Additional Preferences
  • No Females in Heat


  • Available
  • Unavailable
Kelly can host up to 3 dogs per day for day care.
Doggy Day Care Cancellation Policy:

Kelly's Photos


4 Reviews
Michelle G.
Michelle G.
Nov 22, 2017

Kelly is my sister, so I kind of have to say nice things about her. But I'm being truthful when I say that she's one of just a handful of people who I'd entrust with my dogs. It's not accurate to say that she treats her dogs "like family" - because to her, they are family. In all the years she's been caring for animals, she has treated them with nothing but kindness, respect, and ...

Kelly G.
Zoe A.
Zoe A.
Nov 15, 2017

I coordinate a foster program for animals whose owners are homeless. Kelly has been an asset to our program as a foster parent for over 5 years. She has fostered well over 20 dogs and cats for varied amounts of time (a week to several months). Her home is like heaven for dogs and cats. Lots of attention, love, and care. She always made accommodations for animals with special needs. When fostering an older lab ...

Kelly G.
Jeffrey C.
Jeffrey C.
Nov 11, 2017

I've been social media friends with Kelly since about 2007 and over that time I've come to know her as a voracious reader, a wonderful vegan cook and an extraordinarily devoted animal mommy/caregiver. I have laughed, cried and nodded my head knowingly over her beautiful and eloquent blog posts, photos and videos all about her seven rescue dogs and two sweet cats. I have shared in her intense grief of loss six times in recent ...

Kelly G.

About Kelly

years of experience
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

They're good dogs, Brent.

I grew up with dogs (and cats & rabbits & birds & fishes & turtles) and as an adult have adopted seven of my own, three of whom are still alive. I've also fostered for RoseBrooks Center (one of just two domestic violence shelters in the Kansas City area that accepts pets) for several years. I'm home full-time, have a very animal-friendly home (with a large, fenced-in yard; a quiet, farm-like atmosphere; acreage, including fields ...

What Kelly would like to know about your dog

I prefer small and medium-sized breeds, particularly since my three dogs are all under 15 pounds. I'm also happy to have larger dogs in my home, as long as they're ok with little guys. While I do have a cat, I'm less concerned with them getting along, since I can easily keep them separated for the duration of your dog's stay.

I have some experience with behavioral issues, including socialization, separation anxiety, and house training. My house is very dog-friendly and accidents aren't much of a concern. I'm fine caring for an intact animal, just not an intact male and female at the same time, for obvious reasons. I also have experience administering pills, liquid medications, and injections, as well as with special needs animals (including diminished/loss of sight; diminished/loss of hearing; arthritis; limited mobility; seizures; and allergies).

While I encourage families to provide their own supplies - especially food (to avoid gastrointestinal distress), as well as favorite blankets and toys (so your dogs feel at home) - I do have extra bowls, blankets, beds, crates, toys, and leashes. If you want me to walk your dog, I must have a harness that fits him or her - collars are too easy to slip. I have extra harnesses in a variety of sizes, but I cannot guarantee that they'll fit your pup.

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise
Injected Medication Administration
Special Needs Dog Experience

About Kelly's Home

When Kelly watches your pet

I live right next door to Perkins/Grafton Memorial Park, and Jesse James Park (Kearney), Wallace State Park (Cameron), and the Smithville Lake parks system are all about a 25-minute drive away. My house sits on a 20-acre property with a 5-acre pond, and I have a huge fenced-in back yard (chain link, 5' high). In the summer I can do water therapy for the smaller doggos. (My two girls, Mags and O-Ren, typically swim 30 minutes a day in the summer months.) My dogs have a rather extensive toy collection (four toy boxes worth!), including treat-dispensing balls and puzzle toys.

My house is very dog-friendly, with lots of places to relax and chill. I have concrete and tile floors throughout, so accidents are not a huge concern. My house is a true ranch; the only steps are those going from the patio into the back yard, and I deliberately made the rise low for my late wiener dog, Ralphie. While the dogs have plenty of their own furniture, they're allowed to go pretty much wherever they want (the cat's room excepted). For bedtime, I have a king and queen bed pushed together, so everyone has plenty of room to spread out. For the less social doggos, I have crates of various sizes for them to retreat to, if they prefer.

I also take a ton of pictures, both with my cell phone and digital cameras, and would be more than happy to share them all with my clients' humans (as long as you provide your own flash drive/memory card/external hard drive). Otherwise I will send text and/or email updates, including photos, throughout your dog's visit.

In Kelly's Home

Dogs Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 0-2 Hours
Dogs Allowed On Furniture

Kelly's Neighborhood

Kelly's Neighborhood
All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.