Mel A.

Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: A few minutes

Services

Dog Boarding

$33
in the sitter's home
per night

Doggy Day Care

$25
in the sitter's home
per day
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Hosting Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs
Additional Preferences
  • No Females in Heat

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
Mel can host up to 3 dogs per night.
Mel can host 1 dog per day for day care.
Dog Boarding Cancellation Policy:
Doggy Day Care Cancellation Policy:

Reviews

12
repeat clients
23 Reviews

Renee D.
Renee D.
Jan 9, 2019
Verified Stay

Mel did a great job taking care of both my dogs- one being an active puppy no less. I’m thankful that I feel confident leaving my dogs in Mel’s care!

Mel A.
Mel A.
Meghan S.
Meghan S.
Dec 31, 2018
Verified Stay

Mel is amazing! My little guy was so well cared for, it’s hard to find someone you trust to leave them with. She’s got a great yard, and a sweet pup/family. Will definitely have my guy stay here on my next trip. :)

Mel A.
Mel A.
Ana Maria H.
Ana Maria H.
Nov 16, 2018
Verified Stay

Mel was very profesional and provided wonderful care for both dogs. She was always available to my inquires and kept me informed of how things were going with them. She has a fantastic setting for the dogs to have fun and took them out for a walk. I recomend her 100%

Mel A.
Mel A.

About Mel

4
years of experience
  • First Aid & CPR
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

Home Full Time - Play and Snuggle

I'm dog people. I love to play in the yard, go for walks/hikes, roll around on the floor and be silly, and have a good snuggle. Dogs know how to live the good life and I'm right there with them. I worked 4 years at a local high-end boarding kennel, as well as volunteering for Guide Dogs for the Blind, and have adopted and/or fostered numerous dogs. When your dog stays with me ...

What Mel would like to know about your dog

I like to be straightforward and honest with my clients and request the same. If your dog has any challenges in socialization, potty training, chewing/destroying items that are not toys, escaping, getting along with other dogs and/or cats, or any other behavioral concerns, please be up front and let me know. In many cases I am able accommodate the issue if I know in advance. This keeps your dog safe and well cared for, as well as respecting my own pets and home. Very elderly dogs, special needs dogs, dogs that are not fully potty trained, or females that go into heat during their stay may be charged additional fees for the extra time and supplies they require and these would be discussed at our Meet & Greet and agreed upon by both of us before proceeding. I’d love to know your dog's play style, tricks they know, favorite games and toys, love/comfort objects, feeding schedule, medications/allergies (if any), quirks, and what they like and don't like. If your dog is afraid of thunderstorms or fireworks, please let me know, as well. I am a big fan of Meet & Greets and am happy to set those up at my home so everyone can get introduced and make sure we're a good fit. Proof of current vaccines including parvovirus, distemper, rabies and bordatella (kennel cough) is required, as well as an effective flea prevention.

I offer flexible pickup and drop off times between 7am and 8pm. Doggy Day Care hours are 7am - 6pm Tuesday - Saturday.

I do not watch Huskies, Chow Chows, or Shar Peis.

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
First Aid/CPR
Special Needs Dog Experience
Injected Medication Administration
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise

About Mel's Home

Lives in a House
Non-Smoking Household
Has 1 Dog
Has a Fenced Yard
Has Cats
No Children Present
Mel's Pets

Flynn

Golden Retriever
2 years, 4 mo. old, 70 lbs.

When Mel watches your pet

As we move into Oregon's colder, rainier months, I am transitioning from play in the yard and daily outdoor walks to warm cuddles by the wood stove and play in the outdoor covered area we just finished building. On days that aren't too wet or cold, we take outdoor walks as well. Impromptu games of fetch happen whenever someone brings me a ball. We do trick and treat time each evening after dinner, where dogs show off tricks they know (or learn a new one) and earn a grain-free treat. An hour or two before bedtime, we all cuddle up in front of the TV for some funny animal videos, TV, or a good book to wind down and get cozy. Each dog sleeps in its own pen in my great room, adjacent to my bedroom, so I can keep an ear open for any night time needs. During the day, dogs are taken outside every 2 hours for potty breaks and I'm happy to take them in between if they let me know they have to go. If your dog has special needs, is elderly, or otherwise unable to go on walks/outings, I am happy to provide less physical activity and cuddles as an alternative. I provide daily photos of fun,, and will send you updates on your furry family. If your dog gets dirty during their stay, I bathe with all natural shampoo that I make myself. My priority is that you are worry free about your dog being in my care and that they love being in my home.

In Mel's Home

Dogs Not Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 0-2 Hours
Dogs Allowed On Furniture

Mel's Neighborhood

All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.