Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: A few minutes


Dog Boarding

in the sitter's home
per night

House Sitting

in your home
per night

Drop-In Visits

30-minute check-ins
per visit

Doggy Day Care

in the sitter's home
per day

Dog Walking

30-minute walks
per walk
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Hosting Preferences

Additional Preferences
  • Dogs Over 1 Year Old
  • No Females in Heat

Traveling Preferences



  • Available
  • Unavailable
Joy can host up to 2 dogs per night.
Joy can host 1 dog per day for day care.
Dog Boarding Cancellation Policy:
House Sitting Cancellation Policy:
Drop-In Visits Cancellation Policy:
Doggy Day Care Cancellation Policy:
Dog Walking Cancellation Policy:

Joy's Photos

of clients received photo updates
Joy is using the Rover app to track activity and send Rover Cards


repeat clients
89 Reviews

Kristin B.
Kristin B.
Apr 21, 2019
Verified Stay

Joy did an outstanding job taking care of our pets and house-sitting while we were on vacation! She was professional, responsible and truly put our minds at ease about leaving for 8 days. Our pets were very happy, the house spotless and our mail brought in while we were gone. She sent us daily pictures and messages and even went so far as bringing our fur-family into the bathroom with her during a tornado warning ...

Joy B.
Deborah R.
Deborah R.
Mar 4, 2019
Verified Stay

Joy did a drop in visit for our cat while we were away. It gives me a lot of comfort to know that she is looking in to make sure all is ok. I highly recommend Joy for drop in visits for cats, dog walks, boarding, and house-sitting.

Joy B.
Tanesha J.
Tanesha J.
Feb 26, 2019
Verified Stay

Joy is literally the best dog sitter in the area! She immediately took Nehemiah in and alleviated all my worries! I am a pretty worried person and was pretty scared about leaving Nehemiah for an interview... But she sent me so many pictures and contacted me when anything "new" happened with my dog. He looked so happy and comfortable. I am so sad I moved away from the area because I won't be able to ...

Joy B.

About Joy

years of experience
  • First Aid & CPR
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

Kindred spirit with love to share!

I grew up with dogs and cats in my family, so for as long as I can remember, I was always caring for them. In college, I worked as a veterinary assistant, which provided me with a variety of experiences in handling and caring for animals. In later years, I enjoyed volunteering at the Peninsula SPCA. My duties have included exercising and spending quality time with the dogs and cats, as well as doing pet ...

What Joy would like to know about your dog

-What is your dog's typical feeding schedule? (how much, how often)
-Does he/she have any food or treat restrictions?
-Any medical conditions that I need to be aware of?
-What is his/her normal sleeping arrangement (bed, crate, other?)
-Is he/she comfortable in a crate if I need to leave the house for any reason?
-Is he/she on flea/tick preventative?
-Any favorite toys/games?
-Is he/she comfortable going on walks on a leash? (any limitations, heat/cold, injuries, etc.?)
-Does your dog enjoy car rides (in the event that we go to a park)?
-What is your dog's energy level? (high-needs a lot of exercise, medium-needs some exercise, low-prefers minimal exercise).

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
Senior Dog Experience
First Aid/CPR
Can provide daily exercise

About Joy's Home

Lives in a House
Non-Smoking Household
No Children Present
Has a Fenced Yard
Has 1 Dog, No Other Pets
Joy's Pets


12 years, 6 mo. old, 12 lbs.

When Joy watches your pet

When your dog stays with me (includes doggie day care and boarding), I will be home with them (as I work from home), unless I have an appointment or errand to run (in which I am typically back in an hour or two). We have a couple of pet gates that enable us to separate our home into sections, in the event that two dogs do not play well together, we can separate them for everyone's safety and happiness. If I ever have to leave the house for an appointment or errand, then I always separate and secure the dogs for their safety until I return. I typically keep one dog at a time, or two dogs from the same family in my home, but do occasionally keep two dogs from different families, so if you have a preference, please let me know. I do not keep more than two guest dogs at a time in my home, as we have a dog of our own as well. I do require that your dog is house trained and is on preventative for fleas/ticks if they are staying with me for day care or boarding. I will check in with you daily with pictures of your dog's stay and any updates! We have nice squishy couches, and lots of blankets for them to snuggle in, as well as a big fenced backyard for them to play in.

If I'm caring for your dog or cat in your home (includes house sitting, dog walking, or drop-in visits), then I can take them on walks around your neighborhood (or let them out to potty and play in your backyard if you prefer), make sure they have food/water/medicine/treats according to their schedule, scoop litter boxes, play with them with their toys (if they like), snuggle with them, keep them company, etc. If house sitting, I can also bring in your mail and water your plants for you if you'd like. If house sitting, I will stay at your home every night of the stay, but may have to come and go occasionally during the day for appointments. I am able to care for single or multiple dogs and/or cats in your home.

**For dog walking, I only work within the city of Newport News. For house sitting or occasional drop-in visits, I will travel to Hampton and York County as well.
I am currently unable to accommodate house sitting or boarding requests that exceed two weeks in length. **

Whenever I am caring for your pet, I will treat him/her with the same love and attention as if they were my own!

In Joy's Home

Dogs Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 2-4 Hours
Dogs Allowed On Furniture

Joy's Neighborhood

All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.