Ghana's Photo Album

About Ghana

  • Ghana is a 18 year old Basenji & Jack Russell Terrier in Golden, CO

Photos

Ghana's Owner

More Details

About Ghana

Ghana spent the first 10 years of her life at my side as a 'shop dog', greeting people if she felt like it, and being around activity. Since her liter-mate/dynamic duo partner brother passed away a few years ago, she has been an only dog. She doesn't bark (in part due to the basenji breed) but has always been a quiet-natured, well behaved girl on her own. (When she was with her brother, she was much more assertive!) She has traveled a lot with me for work and for pleasure, the the car is like a mobile dog house, a comfortable place that we have spent a lot of time in. She is not accustomed to being kenneled or confined in uncomfortable spaces, instead, she has always been given her cushy bed, and the freedom to be at my side whenever possible. She is very laid back, and doesn't get excited about strange dogs, cats or people, but she prefers to have human attention. Ghana is a senior citizen, and moves slower than she used to, is deaf, likes her napping, following me around inside the house, and getting scratched on the side of her neck. She still gets around pretty well, but doesn't care to go for long walks, she would rather stay inside and get you to pet her.

  • Sex: Female
  • Age: 18 years old
  • Weight: 18 lbs
  • Breed: Basenji & Jack Russell Terrier
  • Tracking Chip: No
  • Spayed: Yes
  • House Trained: Yes
    accidents happen sometimes now that she is a senior citizen, but she is on estrogen which seems to help control it.
  • Gets along with children: Yes
    Not interested in playing, but she likes children who like to pet her.
  • Gets along with other dogs: Yes
    Yes, she rarely 'plays' with other dogs, but gets along with big or small dogs. (if big dogs are overly rambunctious she can get a little nervous since she is smaller, but she usually likes them)
  • Gets along with cats: Yes
    Yes, she is very non-aggressive

Special Requirements

She is deaf, and moves slower than she used to. Receives meds in her food a few times per week.