Dog Boarding

$32
in the sitter's home
per night

House Sitting

$40
in your home
per night

Doggy Day Care

$28
in the sitter's home
per day

Dog Walking

$20
30-minute walks
per walk
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
Under half an hour

Hosting Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs
Additional Preferences
  • Unspayed Females Accepted, Neutered Males Only

Traveling Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
Karen can host up to 8 dogs per night.
Karen can host up to 8 dogs per day for day care.
Dog Boarding Cancellation Policy:
House Sitting Cancellation Policy:
Doggy Day Care Cancellation Policy:
Dog Walking Cancellation Policy:

Reviews

44
repeat clients
64 Reviews

Karen B.
Karen B.
Oct 19, 2018
Verified Stay

Great experience with Karen. Rosie enjoyed it too! She is very knowledgable with dogs and animals in general, and is great at keeping them active on little hiking journeys. We would definitely recommend Karen for any dog sitting needs.

Karen S.
Karen S.
Suyeon K.
Suyeon K.
Oct 18, 2018
Verified Stay

Please read my review if you have a small dog like mine. In her description for the boardings, it sounded fascinating. Set schedule for hikings and walkings and endless playing. I was really excited tor Bori to have fun with other dogs and learn some new tricks.
During the stay, she sent some photos of him running around, which made me feeling very comfortable for leaving him.
Today, I picked him up and noticed something ...

Karen S.
Karen S.
Anne B.
Anne B.
Oct 16, 2018
Verified Stay

I could not ask for a better dog sitter than Karen!!! She took SUCH amazing care of our dog Moxie while we were gone for a week! Our energetic pup got TONS of fun exercise and lots of cuddle time with Karen. We received pictures, text updates and/or videos every day to keep us in the loop. We will use Karen again. Thanks Karen for taking such good care of Moxie!!

Karen S.
Karen S.

About Karen

10
years of experience
  • First Aid & CPR
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

Experienced & Dedicated Dog Lover

*please read entirely as everything included is important for booking & your pup’s stay. thank you!

Hiya!

I'm Karen & I absolutely love animals, especially dogs! I’m not your avegrge sitter in the sense that my whole life is dedicated to animals - caring for them in my home & work, defending their welfare, & simply enjoying their company. I graduated from IU this spring with a degree I created titled Animal/Environmental Welfare ...

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
First Aid/CPR
Special Needs Dog Experience
Injected Medication Administration
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise

About Karen's Home

When Karen watches your pet

Your pup will have an absolutely amazing time hanging out with Cooper (my dog), Travis (my boyfriend), & me! Any animal who comes into our lives is always more than just a pet; we treat them all like one of our own & respect them all as individuals.

A typical day in our pack:
-First thing in the morning, we go hiking for 1 1/2 - 2 hours.
-Then we come home, eat, relax, & play in the yard.
-Next, I will spend time working with the dogs on training/discipline as a pack as well as individually.
-Then we go for our afternoon walk or hike followed by lunch, relaxing, & playing in the yard.
-In the evening, we go to our secret spot where we catch the sunset as the dogs run themselves out chasing us on our longboards, skates, or pocket bike.
-At night, we are all worn out from an adventure filled day, so we have dinner & lounge around the house.
-Also, we love to go out to the lakes around town whenever we get the chance.
-& some weekends we visit my dad in Carmel, IN with his several fenced acres, pool, & dog, Warren. They love spending time with our furry friends & I enjoy working with the dogs on water sports in the pool & agility on the course I’ve constructed in the yard.

On walks/hikes:
-We like to engage in off leash walks once we are all comfortable with one another & if it is okay with you. Even the dogs who have never been off leash do great with us because we have a great pack with a confident leader & we go to places away from roads, neighborhoods, & people. Off leash is the best way for the pups to play, explore, burn energy, go at their own pace, & totally be their doggy selves.

On the road:
-I drive a mini van, so while your pups may not be riding in style, they will surely be safe & comfortable.
-Additionally, I have several doggy seat belts for those who need them.

At the house:
-We have a fenced yard with a doggy pool & a dog door that is accessible 24/7.
-The pups have free roam & may cuddle, play, & explore wherever they choose.
-We have a medium sized crate set up in the living room & large crates & puppy gates in storage, just in case they are needed.
-Since we are very involved in dog sitting, there will often be more than 1 dog at our house at a time. We have found that multiple dogs makes for a more enjoyable time for each pup because they realize it’s a vacation for them instead of being left behind by their family; they see the other dogs playing & having a great time, so they quickly get in on it. We always establish a solid pack vibe by hiking together in the woods & this secures our bond to one another. My work at the shelter has given me excellent experience on pairing dogs & facilitating positive interactions, & we have yet to encounter any issues. If you have questions or concerns about your pup staying with other dogs, please don’t hestitate to ask so we can work it out!

Training:
-I am able to work with your dog on any training/behaviors you desire as I completed an internship in positive training, I am always studying training techniques, & I successfully implement the methods with my dog & with those for whom I care on the daily.
-We can work on: tricks; house training; easing separation anxiety; & putting an end to jumping, leash pulling, undesirable barking, aggression & any other undesirable behavior. Just say the word!
-Training is included while your pup is in my care & I am also available to meet with you for hands-on training sessions in your home or whenever you choose. If you are interested in the latter, shoot me a message so we can discuss the training desired & rates. You’ll see the results for yourself, but references are available upon request.

Preparing for the stay:
-Please bring any food & treats your pup will need for the duration of the stay.
-Bowls are helpful, but not required.
-Please provide their collar/harness & leash.
-We recommend you bring a few toys, but we cannot guarantee they will come back in one piece.
-You are welcome to bring anything that will make your pup happy (e.g. their personal bed, crate, blanket, etc.).

Other notes:
-My only obligation this summer (aside from dog sitting) is WildCare, where my schedule is flexible & I work a few days a week for a couple hours at a time. I work in the evenings, so when I am not home, Travis takes care of the pups. Like me, he loves hanging out with them & taking them for walks.

Just let us know what your dog loves & we will be sure to provide!
Thanks!
We look forward to hearing from you!

Note about boarding:
-my boarding rate is for a maximum of 24 hours per day. if the drop off/pick up times exceed 24 hours, a $30 charge for day care will be added. this is negotiable based on drop off/pick up times & the amount of excess hours. this is because during the day we heavily engage with the dogs & an early drop off with a late pick up is essentially an additional day of care that is not accounted for with the way Rover books boarding. for example: drop at 8am one day/pick up at 8pm another day is 12 hours over the 24 max.
-you should book the request for the number of nights your dog is staying with us.
-I will discuss the additional rates with you in the booking request message & add the fee to the request based on your estimated pick up/drop off times & amount of hours exceeding 24.
-if you pick up later than your original eta, I will submit a new booking request to you with the according fee for the additional time.
-let me know if you have any questions regarding the over time charges as I am happy to work with you.

Notes about dog walking:
-my dog walking service is different than most you will find on Rover. I do not provide 30 minute walks around your neighborhood as Rover describes because I do not like to leave my boarding/daycare pups behind.
-our walks are a 1 1/2 - 2 hour off leash pack hikes in the woods.
-times are flexible & vary depending on drop off/pick up times of the other pups.
-it is $20 if you drop off/pick up, $25 for me to pick up/drop off.

Notes about house sitting:
-I will be accompanied by Travis & Cooper.
-we will provide days similar to that described above.

Other services:
-dog/people training
-basic grooming (i.e. bathing, nail trims, ear cleaning)
-first aid
-inquire for pricing

Please make sure this is a good fit:
-your pup must be up to date on all vaccinations & medications (e.g. flea/tick, heart worm, rabies, etc.). this ensures the health of everyone!
-we are a very active pack, so if your pup is unable to withstand vigorous exercise multiple times a day this may not be the best fit because we don’t want to over do it or leave them behind. however, we have had senior dogs & English Bulldogs, for example, that happily kept up just fine.
-we ask that you are open to the idea of off leash adventures because it would not be fair for your dog to be the only one on a leash & it would not be good for their relationship with the pack.
-our cats are very good with dogs & we can work with your pup on improving poor cat manners, but we cannot have any dog with extreme cat aggression in our home for the safety & well-being of our cats. however, if you do have this problem with your dog & need help correcting it, I am happy to work with you both in private training sessions.
-please avoid getting your dog groomed prior to their stay with us because sometimes our adventures get messy & your pup may miss out on the fun if we have to worry about keeping a perfect coat.

In Karen's Home

Dogs Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 0-2 Hours
Dogs Allowed On Furniture

Karen's Neighborhood

All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.