Reliable, Responsible, and Experienced Dog Sitter

Riverwest, Milwaukee, WI

Book on Rover & receive:

  • Premium pet insurance
  • Our reservation guarantee
  • 24/7 customer support

Green circle is the approximate location of "Reliable, Responsible, and Experienced Dog Sitter."

Green circle is the sitter's approximate service range

Legend

Available
Unavailable

Alicia T.'s Availability

Alicia T.'s Videos

Alicia T. provides

Home Sitting

$25 per night
50% response rate None
About a day Sitter responds in about a day
Description:

Looking for someone to you can trust to take care of your four legged family member while you're gone? I have three years handling experience working at a doggy daycare as a handler and assistant manager, as well as a lifetime of pet ownership. I have owned several purebreeds, mixes, and rescue dogs, and worked with many, many more. I also foster rescue dogs, working in the past with WBTR and currently with MADACC. In addition to sitting services, I also can provide basic grooming services including bathing, nail trims, ear cleaning, and brush outs. I would prefer to let your furry friend come visit me and my own pampered pouch, Jo Harper (a Stafforshire Terrier mix from MADACC), however, if your rover would enjoy the comfort of their own bed, I can also watch them in your home. Here is what I promise to provide your dog with while your gone:
3 Thirty minute walks or play sessions per day depending on your dogs health and energy needs (AM, Afternoon, and PM) and lots of love in-between.
Socialization, if desired. I can take your dog to their favorite dog park, or provide play with my own dog and his pals.
Prompt feeding in accordance with their regular schedule.
Left alone for no more that 8 hours at a time (I do work part time and attend classes at UW-Milwaukee, so your dog will be left alone for a few hours M-Sat).
Proper medicating if needed. I have experience with a variety of special needs dogs.
The comfort of knowing your dog is with an experience dog owner and handler, who understands the importance of proper dog care.

Things you should know about me:
I am a student and work part time, therefore your dog will be left alone (for no more than 8 hours) for some time most days.

I do have my own dog. She is a 1 year old spayed Stafforshire Terrier mix. In order for your dog to stay with me, they must be able to safely coexist with my dog. Harper has attended daycare and accepts fosters into our home, so I expects he will welcome your dog as well. Dogs who cannot be with my dog can be cared for in their own home.

When left alone in my apartment, dogs will be crated (crate provided by me unless your dog prefers their own).

All dogs I care for must show me proof of current vaccinations required by law.

Special needs dogs are okay whether it be for medical or behavioral needs! If you are working with training, I can continue that while you are gone too.

Any female dogs who are unaltered and in heat will only be cared for in their own home.

While you are gone the most important thing is knowing your family is cared for. I understand the importance of proper dog care and would love to take care of yours. Feel free to ask me any questions you like regarding my pet care experience and skills.
I look forward to getting to know your pet!

About Alicia T.:

I am a full time student at UW-Milwaukee majoring in Social Work. I have three years of handling and pet care experience in a professional setting. I also have three years of fostering experience with a variety of different breeds and rescues. I have been a dog owner my entire life, and currently have one very sweet, one year old, spayed, female Stafforshire Terrier mix.

How long have you been a dog lover? Tell us about your history with dogs.

I have owned and cared for dogs my entire life. As a kid, we had three dogs growing up, and as an adult I have owned and cared for two of my own dogs and fostered many more. I also have three years of experience in a professional pet care facility.

What would you like to know about a dog before sitting him or her? Do you have any breed preferences?

All I need to know about your dog is their behavioral and medical needs so that I can provide safe and proper care. Special behavioral needs are okay, but I need to be aware of them beforehand to keep myself, my dog, and any others who may come in to contact with them safe.

Do you have reliable transportation in the event of an emergency?

Yes I do. I own my own car.

Are you comfortable administering medication?

Yes I am.

How much time do you plan on spending with my dog each day?

It will vary from day to day, but I promise not to spend more than 8 hours away from home at a time, and no more than 12 hours total. I am a student and work part time, which means some days are rather busy. However, I work and go to school close to home, which makes coming back between classes for walks and snuggle time easy to do.

If you have a backyard, please describe it.

I have a small to medium sized yard that is mostly fenced in, however it does have a few slip out spots, so I never leave dogs unattended outside.

Where will my dog sleep?

Your dog will most likely sleep in a crate, which will be located where your dog is comfortable. If they are comfortable being in the living room or kitchen at night, that is where they will sleep. If they prefer to be closer, they will be crated in my bedroom.

Where will you take my dog on walks? Tell me about it.

Generally, your dog will be going for a walk around my neighborhood. I stick mainly to the side streets, however if your dog is a good walker, we may cross a few busy streets to extend our walking area. If your dog is comfortable in off leash play areas, we may also go to one of Milwaukee's local dog parks.

Additional Information
Location: Milwaukee, WI 53212
Children at location?: No
Num. of Spaces: 1
Cancellation Policy: Strict
Acceptable Dog Sizes:
  • Small (0 - 15lbs)
  • Medium (15 - 40lbs)
  • Large (40 - 100lbs)
  • Giant (100lbs and above)
  • Accepts puppies

Loading Past Stays

loading
Jo Harper

Age: 1 years, 6 mo. old
Weight: 36 lbs.
Breed: American Staffordshire Terrier

Harper is a one year old, spayed female Staffordshire Terrier mix rescued from a local shelter. She has attended doggy daycare since her adoption, and gets along great with all types of dogs, big or small, high or low energy, friendly or shy. If your dog is looking for a play or snuggle mate, she'll be happy to fill in! Or, if your dog prefers alone time, she's happy to give them some space.

Ratings

Great sitter, will use whenever she's available!!! My dog is very happy when I'm gone.
February 5
My dog was very happy when I got back and everything was as it should have been!

Testimonials

Samantha T. January 5
I've known Alicia for years and she's always been THE 'dog person'. She was born and raised with dogs; it's in her blood! Even when she was a college student living on her own and broke, she still somehow found a way to rescue, foster, and work with dogs. That's dedication. Alicia is by far the most responsible person I know, and has a no/nonsense attitude when it comes to caring for pups- no whining or complaining or indulging or ignoring, she just takes care of business. She's not rattled by 'crazy' dogs or frustrated by shy or sick dogs. And Harper (her dog) is a GEM. Other dogs love her :) All in all, I can't think of any reason anyone wouldn't be pleased as punch to leave their pooch in the care of such an experienced, responsible, and dedicated caretaker! (Collapse)
Flag a listing
Describe the problem with this profile and we will take a look at it.




   or Cancel

One Last Step

You'll need an account so Alicia T. can send you a response!
— or —
Already a member? Sign in now.

Facebook occasionally requires us to ask again for your permission to post on your behalf. Please click the Facebook Connect button below to reconnect your Facebook account.