Shelley S.

Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Under half an hour

Services

Dog Boarding

$45
in the sitter's home
per night

House Sitting

$50
in your home
per night

Drop-In Visits

$35
30-minute check-ins
per visit

Doggy Day Care

$35
in the sitter's home
per day

Dog Walking

$20
30-minute walks
per walk
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Hosting Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs
Additional Preferences
  • Spayed and Neutered Dogs

Traveling Preferences

0-15
lbs
16-40
lbs
41-100
lbs
101+
lbs

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
Shelley can host 1 dog per night.
Shelley can host up to 2 dogs per day for day care.
Dog Boarding Cancellation Policy:
House Sitting Cancellation Policy:
Drop-In Visits Cancellation Policy:
Doggy Day Care Cancellation Policy:
Dog Walking Cancellation Policy:

Shelley's Photos

80%
of clients received photo updates
Shelley is using the Rover app to track activity and send Rover Cards

Reviews

29
repeat clients
75 Reviews

Justin K.
Justin K.
Jan 19, 2019
Verified Stay

Shelley always does a great job taking care of our three dogs. One of them has some medical issues requiring medications and all of them have strange food requirements, which she handles with ease. I’d like to think the pups behave when we’re gone but she can handle them when they don’t! Highly recommend Shelley.

Shelley S.
Lindsay M.
Lindsay M.
Dec 8, 2018
Verified Stay

Shelley always takes great care of Claire! She’s flexible and communication is easy. We would definitely recommend!

Shelley S.
Linda H.
Linda H.
Jul 22, 2018
Verified Stay

Daisy did great! Shelley was very sweet. She is home a lot and has a very nice area to walk the diog.

Shelley S.

About Shelley

40
years of experience
  • First Aid & CPR
  • Austin Pets Alive! Donor
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

Lifelong pet lover, home full-time

I'm Shelley, life-long animal lover who would welcome your pet for a pupcation! I had my first dog, Muffin, when I was 6 and have always had pets ever since. I can't imagine life without them! I am experienced with dogs and cats, and open to caring for other types of pets as well. You can see from my years of Rover care, 65+ positive reviews and multiple long term, repeat clients the level of ...

What Shelley would like to know about your dog

All dogs I accept MUST BE:
Housebroken
Current on shots
Leash trained (unless sitting in your home with fenced yard and no walks required)
Non aggressive towards other animals and people

I am available for keeping your pets in my home overnight (if they are friendly with other dogs), or traveling to your Central or North Austin home to care for your pets. I don't have any breed preferences, but for keeping a pet in my home smaller/medium size dogs are best as my home is not huge. I would like to know about the dog's personality, any medical needs, any special needs or things to know, etc.

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
First Aid/CPR
Special Needs Dog Experience
Injected Medication Administration
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise

About Shelley's Home

Lives in a House
Non-Smoking Household
No Children Present
Has a Fenced Yard
Has 1 Dog, No Other Pets
Shelley's Pets

Selma

Shih Tzu
6 years, 9 months old, 14 lbs.

When Shelley watches your pet

Here's where we'll take our walks:
Around my quiet, low traffic residential neighborhood near Burnet and 183. There are also several parks nearby (dogs love Shoal Creek!), and I also like to take dogs down to the Town Lake trail, so if your dog would enjoy that please let me know.

Your dog's sleeping arrangement:
In their crate/kennel or on a dog bed on the floor, depending on your preference and the dog's temperament/personality. I am also fine with them sleeping on the bed with me!

Time I'll spend with your dog:
In addition to my pet sitting/foster work, I am also a writer who works from home. This means I am here most of the time, and so whether I am pet sitting in your home or mine, I have plenty of time to spend with them. Perhaps I will go out for a couple of hours to eat or to do errands. But I will be home with your furry family member for at least 10-12 hours per day.

I also love to send pictures and updates about the animals I'm caring for, if you would like to have those. Would be happy to text or email daily updates with a photo!

Time I'll spend with your dog:
We can discuss. I can come to your home twice a day, and spend at least half an hour each time but can discuss more. I work for myself (writer) from my home, so it's always possible I can bring my laptop and just hang at your place for longer if your dog needs extra company.

Extra house-sitting services:
Yes, happy to collect mail, take out trash, water plants etc at no extra charge.

In Shelley's Home

Dogs Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 2-4 Hours
Dogs Allowed On Furniture

Shelley's Neighborhood

Shelley's Neighborhood
All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.