Selim A.

Response Rate: 60%
Response Time: Under 12 hours


Dog Boarding

in the sitter's home
per night

Doggy Day Care

in the sitter's home
per day
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Hosting Preferences

Additional Preferences
  • Dogs Over 1 Year Old
  • Spayed and Neutered Dogs
  • No Females in Heat


  • Available
  • Unavailable
Selim can host up to 3 dogs per night.
Selim can host up to 3 dogs per day for day care.
Dog Boarding Cancellation Policy:
Doggy Day Care Cancellation Policy:


repeat clients
118 Reviews

Dave K.
Dave K.
Jun 23, 2018
Verified Stay

I am a return customer. Always excellent care by Selim and family. However this time was exceptional due to problem with my dog in which Selim found a growth on my dog, called me right away and took my dog to the Vet. All in one day and Surgury was performed and Selim took a few trips to the vet to get all this done. Also he recovered our dog for a few days until ...

Selim A.
Selim A.
Neely M.
Neely M.
Jun 14, 2018
Verified Stay

Lola had a ball with Selim! Her 2 favorite parts were making new friends/playing with the other dogs and snuggling with Selim. He gave her lots of pets and made her feel loved.

My flight was delayed and Selim was understanding and accommodating.

Selim A.
Selim A.
Neely M.
Neely M.
Jun 4, 2018
Verified Stay

Selim is gentle warm and caring. I felt like he really cared for my dog and wanted her to have a nice stay.

Selim A.
Selim A.

About Selim

years of experience
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

Full-Time Dog Lover in Granite Bay

I am a semi-retired dog lover, and I have lots of time and energy to love and care for your dog.

Full disclosure: I'm pretty much known as an over-the-top dog nut, and I love all kinds of dogs. I love the challenge of walking the OCD leash pullers, getting on the floor with the big goofy knuckleheads, petting the couch potatoes on our leather couch, and gently nurturing the senior sugar face dogs and ...

What Selim would like to know about your dog

I love all kinds of dogs, given the open play group format, I need to know that your dog is well-socialized and gets along well with other dogs. Reactive, aggressive or overly fearful dogs will not be the best fit since I don't like to isolate the dogs (except during feeding) or risk their safety. I know the difference between active appropriate dog pack play and aggressive behavior. Friendly dog play is healthy for dog's development, exercise, and socialization, and I encourage it.

Your dog needs to be current on all vaccinations including Bordatella. I want to know if you trust your dog off leash, and if s/he responds t recall. Tell me the training commands you use. I'd like to know what your dog is like at home and what activities and routines s/he enjoys, i.e. play preferences, and if s/he has a special spot for pets. Tell me about the dogs potty break routines, how you correct your dog, and what treats s/he enjoys.

Tell me about how your dog acts when s/he is away from home, either boarding, on the street, or at the park. I'll need to know what special needs that may have and medicines they take, special food/snacks, etc. Have they demonstrated any dog reactivity or separation anxiety in the past? Does s/he sleep through the night or have persistent barking issues? Knowing any triggers is essential for their well-being and our peace of mind.

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
Special Needs Dog Experience
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise

About Selim's Home

Lives in a House
Non-Smoking Household
No Children Present
Has a Fenced Yard
Has 2 Dogs, No Other Pets
Selim's Pets


Golden Retriever
12 years, 11 mo. old, 76 lbs.


Golden Retriever
10 years, 9 mo. old, 82 lbs.

When Selim watches your pet

Folsom lake is only a 10 minute walk from my house, and I usually walk there every day. If I have more than 1 guest (plus my two), I may load the dogs into the back of my minivan which has the rear seats removed and drive right to the water's edge and let them run, play and swim on the beach. If your dog is reliable off leash, I may leash her or take them on a separate leashed walk. Our lake walks average 3-4 miles.

I try tailor my activities to your pup's needs. I may take them to the dog park, walk them at the lake or around the neighborhood, throw sticks, Chuck-It tennis balls, tug-of-war toys, or just snuggle time on the couch with lots of belly rubs. You should know that my dogs and guests often play in the grass, dirt, beach sand, and when wet, mud. Dogs who don't like outdoor doggie play groups or owners who don't like their pets getting down and dirty may not like it here. There's a good chance your pup will come home needing a bath. Sorry! :) I don't offer pet grooming, but will often bathe dogs that really like to get muddy.

In Selim's Home

Dogs Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 0-2 Hours
Dogs Allowed On Furniture

Selim's Neighborhood

All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.