Karen R.

Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Under half an hour


Dog Boarding

in the sitter's home
per night
Cat care, pick-up & drop-off, bathing / grooming

Hosting Preferences

Additional Preferences
  • Dogs Over 1 Year Old
  • Spayed and Neutered Dogs
  • No Females in Heat


  • Available
  • Unavailable
Karen can host 1 dog per night.
Dog Boarding Cancellation Policy:

Karen's Photos

of clients received photo updates


repeat clients
43 Reviews

Jill S.
Jill S.
Dec 28, 2017
Verified Stay

Karen was a wonderful caretaker for Lola. She sent pictures and regular updates, and we were very pleased with everything!

Karen R.
Hanna S.
Hanna S.
Feb 20, 2017
Verified Stay

My dog had a great stay with Karen and Oliver. He is normally an anxious dog who does not like being away from home. However, when I picked him up, he was calm and happy and seemed sad to leave. Karen provided thorough updates during his stay. Thanks Karen for providing such a safe and happy environment while we were away!

Karen R.
Annie M.
Annie M.
Dec 31, 2016
Verified Stay

I definitely recommend Karen! She is super knowledgeable and very kind. I knew my dog was in good hands. She gave me daily updates and even emailed me a special Holiday card with Bella's picture. I would love to have Bella stay with her again :)

Thank you! Oliver and I would love to have Bella stay with us again.
Karen R.

About Karen

years of experience
  • Verified Background Check
  • Rover 101

Old Town Bed and Biscuit: personal care in my home

Hi! Bring your dog to my home, Old Town Bed and Biscuit, where he/she will be treated like one of the family!

Please note that I generally only take in one guest dog at a time, except during holidays when there may be 2-3 guests whose parents are vacationing. Dogs 20 lbs and under only please. Since I love Tibetan Terriers, I do make an exception for them! Finally, your dog must be housebroken and ...

What Karen would like to know about your dog

It's always a good idea to meet a dog before committing to pet-sitting services. You and I can talk about your pet's needs and you can inspect the premises and learn about how I will care for your pet. Specifically, I would need to know your pet’s daily schedule; temperament; health issues/vet contact; food and diet preferences/restrictions; activity level/exercise needs; command familiarity; and behavioral quirks (cats, skateboards, bicycles, kids and horses--yes, carriage horses periodically walk past my house and through the neighborhood).

Additional Skills
Oral Medication Administration
Special Needs Dog Experience
Senior Dog Experience
Can provide daily exercise

About Karen's Home

Lives in a House
Non-Smoking Household
No Children Present
Has a Fenced Yard
Has 1 Dog, No Other Pets
Karen's Pets


10 years, 5 months old, 17 lbs.

When Karen watches your pet

Here's where we'll take our walks
Old Town is a beautifully quaint area, full of tree-lined streets and little parks. Lincoln Park is a few blocks away, and I love to go along the lakefront, through the park, and around the zoo. My afternoon walk typically goes for about an hour. I also like to drive my dog to Wiggly Field at least once a week for lots of exercise and socialization.

Your dog's sleeping arrangement
That's pretty much up to your dog. At night, your dog has the run of the living room, where I have both a dog bed and dog cushion, plus throw rugs, as well as the dining room, where the water bowl is left out, and kitchen areas. If you prefer to bring his/her bed or crate, that would be fine.

Time I'll spend with your dog
I work from home. There are plenty of toys and chews on hand at all times, plus I have installed a puppy pull from the second floor landing, which is a great form of entertainment. My dog has had it for two years and hasn't tired of it yet.

In Karen's Home

Dogs Not Allowed On Bed
Potty Breaks Every 2-4 Hours
Dogs Allowed On Furniture

Karen's Neighborhood

Karen's Neighborhood
All stays booked on Rover receive our Rover guarantee, 24/7 support, and our reservation protection.