3

Who sees the dog reviews?

asked 2014-12-29 11:29:51 -0500

Hello my fellow dog lovers. Question....After you stay with a dog, Rover asks you to rate them. I am wondering who can see these ratings. I wouldn't want the owner to see a bad rating of their dog but I would like to let my fellow pet sitters know what to expect from that dog.

edit edit tags flag offensive close merge delete

7 Answers

1
answered 2014-12-29 14:54:01 -0500

I completely agree that sitters should be able to see a dog's reviews/ratings. (Owners can see our reviews.) Of course, its usefulness is contingent on sitters being entirely honest.

BTW, I don't believe I can actually access submitted reviews/ratings I've given to dogs. There is another function called "Notes" which I've never used, but is retrievable.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Huh. I'd never tried to go back into those reviews before. I can find the ratings I give, but yeah, no sign of the text review. Weird. I can't imagine why sitters wouldn't be honest in their reviews, unless they were also visible to the owners, and I suppose that is the rub: many users of Rover are both. So then would the reviews be available to all sitters? Or all sitters except the owner? Or only those who had a pending request for that particular dog?

Laura R.'s profile imageLaura R. ( 2014-12-29 15:21:25 -0500 )edit

When you rate a dog's stay, Rover states: "Every time you leave a rating you increase the level of trust on the site and help others make good decisions." How can it help others make good decisions, when you cannot see how anyone has previously rated and reviewed a dog's stay?

Karen R.'s profile imageKaren R. ( 2014-12-29 16:26:09 -0500 )edit

I wonder if it's a remnant of a feature that never materialized, or at least hasn't yet? I've rated about half the dogs I've watched, but I was hesitant to do so at first, not knowing who saw the reviews, and more recently I just haven't found it a useful feature. It seems like something that could be very beneficial if implemented well.

Laura R.'s profile imageLaura R. ( 2014-12-29 16:29:46 -0500 )edit
5
answered 2015-01-22 12:27:53 -0500

Hey y'all, I had a similar question and just got off the phone with support at Rover. Currently dog reviews are visible only to the reviewer and Rover HQ (owners and other sitters do not see the review). They are exploring options in the future of making reviews visible to other sitters, but this isn't currently available. Hope that helps!

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Do you know of this is still accurate or if it has changed?

Denelle S.'s profile imageDenelle S. ( 2016-07-06 14:18:32 -0500 )edit
5
answered 2014-12-29 11:38:33 -0500

Currently, these ratings are only visible to you. This is a way for you to remind yourself how a stay went and what issues you had. Neither owners nor other sitters see these ratings. Like you, I wish these ratings could be shared with other sitters, since dogs often act differently when their owners are away, and this could be a valuable resource for finding out those little things that owners either ignore, downplay, or don't know about.

edit flag offensive delete link more
2
answered 2015-03-11 22:51:33 -0500

This is a tool you can use to monitor a repeat dog's progress, or help remind you of how a particular sit went. The owner will not be able to view your response. http://Rover.com has informed me that in the future they hope to utilize this tool as a way of passing information about a dog on to other sitters. However, at this time your responses are private and can be viewed only by you.

edit flag offensive delete link more
1
answered 2014-12-29 22:32:09 -0500

These are all great questions and comments. Does anyone at Rover HQ review and answer these on here? I am fairly new as a sitter and just got done watching one very anxious pup who I'd like to rate a 2 but am also leery of who sees what I say or rate and what will happen with my info. I'd love it if we could see others ratings on repeat puppy clients as it was very clear after the fact when talking to the owners, that their pup has deep separation anxiety but of course this was not mentioned at all during our meet and greet (I think they were afraid I wouldn't take her). I knew they had used Rover before so having information tied to a pup that only Rover sitters can see when a meet n greet or booking is initiated would be so helpful. If we sitters use the site to also book our own dogs, then we should be even more prepared to hear the good and not so good about our pups behaviors while we are out.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Hi Dana! We do have a team of community managers from Rover who check in on the forum (myself included) and we appreciate the feedback and insights. However, this is a peer-to-peer community. If you do have questions about how Rover works, we encourage you to contact our team at 888-453-7889.

Jessica M.'s profile imageJessica M. ( 2014-12-30 11:01:28 -0500 )edit
0
answered 2015-01-24 17:50:27 -0500

I'm a dog sitter and I have also used Rover for my own dog. If sitters were allowed to see the ratings of other sitters, then I would be able to see how someone rated my dog. Just something to keep in mind if changes were to be made.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Yeah, if it were implemented I would like the ratings only made available to sitters who receive a sit request. No one else would have reason to see them.

Laura R.'s profile imageLaura R. ( 2015-01-24 18:21:24 -0500 )edit

It would be very nice if sitters could see dog ratings to be able to decide if they are a good fit.

Jessy L.'s profile imageJessy L. ( 2015-11-23 15:16:55 -0500 )edit
0
answered 2018-09-07 23:18:33 -0500

As a dog owner, the reviews we leave are visible to the sitters, so why shouldn’t owners be able to see the reviews of their dog?

edit flag offensive delete link more

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

[hide preview]